Reasons Why I Love Savage Garden

Reason #1 : Their Songs
The lyrics and melody of their songs has a great impact on me. Maybe because I’m a bit melancholic, that their song’s emotions are like magnet that pulls out an emotion from a listener. The way their music was written is totally exceptional. They are one of my early writing influences.

Reason #2: Darren Hayes
Darren Hayes is my highschool crush and then, years later, I found out that he’s not straight. That’s when he came out. Anyway, he’s so lovable in their music video I knew I loved you. He has that romantic aura around him. Too much for my talking, someone might get jealous for my over attachment to Darren. 😉

So here’s a list of my favorite songs and some talking about them.

I WANT YOU – Here’s how I sing this: “Anytime I Need To See Your Face, bhvbuty itvrnytvyr, Sweet Like A Chic A Cherry Cola”. Haha, I can’t do the rap so I just sing the song that way. 🙂

To view full lyrics click here

TRULY MADLY DEEPLY – After this song’s release, that’s when Savage Garden got into the limelight. “A new beginning. A reason for living. A deeper meaning.” Though I love that line, I think the chorus is more romantic 🙂 “I want to stand with you on a mountain, I want to bathe with you in the sea, I want to lay like this forever, until the sky falls down on me”

To view full lyrics click here

I KNEW I LOVED YOU -“I know that it might sound More than a little crazy But I believe……..I knew I loved you before I met you, I think I dreamed you into life, I knew I loved you before I met you, I have been waiting all my life”  Who can forget those lines?

To view full lyrics click here

ANIMAL SONG – The energetic drumbeat of this song keeps me awake when I listen to it. Thanks to their drummer :)) “Compassion in the jungle Compassion in your hands yeah Would you like to make a run for it Would you like to take my hand yeah” That’s my favorite line of this song.

To view full lyrics click here

AFFIRMATION – I’m a big fan of ” I believe” statement, that’s why this song has an impact on me. I think the truest statement on this song is ” I Believe Your Most Attractive Features Are Your Heart And Soul I Believe That Family Is Worth More Than Money Or Gold”  That’s what I believe though

To view full lyrics click here 

CRASH AND BURN – This song is one of the kindest songs that I’ve ever heard. This has an appeal to me due to my melancholic side. This song reminds me though that I am not alone. I also love the sign language on the last part of the video.

To view full lyrics click here 

HOLD ME, I MISS YOU, SO BEAUTIFUL – Those are good songs too. Although I don’t have any special thoughts about them.

THE LOVER AFTER ME – This song made me cry a thousand times. I mean this song can pull a thousand emotions from my heart and made me write a not-so-few poems during my teenage years. “But I’m standing at your doorway I’m calling out your name because I can’t move on” — I’ve done that line literally when I was in high school.

To view full lyrics click here

TWO BEDS AND A COFFEE MACHINE – An addition to the songs that can let my melancholic side out. “Another bruise to try and hide Another alibi to write Another lonely highway in the black of night There’s hope in the darkness I know you’re gonna make it”

To view full lyrics click here

UNIVERSE – This song speaks of romance literally. “But let me tell you that this time I’m gonna make you mine I won’t let you go.” My favorite part? It’s this line: Cuddle up close Lay on my chest now Listen my heart beat’s coming down If you get tired you close your Eyes now When you wake up I won’t be found ’cause I know baby I know you’re the nervous kind With so much going on in your mind”

To view full lyrics click here

Happy listening! 🙂

Photo Credit: Google Images

Photo Credit: Google Images

5 thoughts on “Reasons Why I Love Savage Garden

  1. crissybwell says:

    OMG this is one of the greatest post I have seen!!! I LOVE Savage Garden and so many of their songs speak to me, and I still follow Darren Hayes career because I feel the same about his music. I feel like they express words that I can’t even begin to create myself, I share your passion and feelings.

    “Crash and Burn” is my go to song, it is so beautiful and uplifting. It just reminds us, just like you said, that no matter what we aren’t alone. Sometimes we just need to ask and seek and we can find what we need, people are there to help, listen and understand if we are willing to do the same.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you :)

