And I woke up

A poem by: Maria Elena Bitare

From the broken floor
I woke up broken and cold
Gasping my breath
Feeling the wounds I kept

Lying on the floor
All I see is your shadow
If left my soul wanting for more
Cuts and bruises are what for

In this game you always win
I’d never had a chance to be loved right
And you smile and I fall once again
And tomorrow I’ll wake up lying on the broken floor

Your silhouette in my fragile heart
Kept me broken each and every time
It’s dark inside the room where I am
And you won’t bother to make me feel warm

I'd love to hear from you :)

